For a day

For a day

I want your face to get red as you look at me
I want you to look at me and feel as happy as you make me
I want you to feel your heart race when I smile
I want you to feel terrified and at the same time excited each time I enter the room
I want you to feel terrified that you’ll mess things up
Just for a day

I want you to be the one to watch my back as I walk away
I want you to be the one who dreams about me
I want you to be the one to be surprised when I text you
I want you to be the one who has a smile they can’t get rid of because you’re thinking of me
Just for a day

I want to feel something less
I want to look at you and just see a person I occasionally talk to
I want to look at you without butterflies or blushing or my heart racing
I just want things to be switched
I want to be the one you tell things to
Just for a day

It would make you understand
It would make you realize how important you are
It would free me from my mind
It would also trap you inside of yours
Just for a day

I know you won’t feel as I do
I know I will never make you that happy
I know that this would never happen
Even if it was…
Just for a day

This isn’t about anybody in particular but when I wrote it I wanted to share it.

~Colorful Daydreamer

2 thoughts on “For a day

Leave a Reply

