“Willow Tree”

“I’m a twisted willow tree.  Tear off my leaves.  Break off my branches.  Cut me down into pieces. Set me on fire, until there’s nothing left.  Now bury the ashes, just give it some time, and do it all over again.”  This is a poem called “Willow Tree” by a fellow WordPress blogger, To: No One and Everyone.  I think this is a well-written poem so I decided to share it with you.
 

I have been reading from this page for quite some time and thought that “Willow Tree” was quite relatable.  I believe that everybody has felt that they get slowly picked apart and that once they are feeling better about their life they get picked apart yet again.  This has happened to me many times.  I think the metaphors in this piece explain things perfectly.

I disagree with the statement “people do that to you because you let them.” (which has been commented on some of my posts before and is not something stated within any of To:No One And Everyone’s posts.) Sticking up for myself has always been a weak point of mine.  When people take advantage of me yes I do “let them” I guess.  Because what is my happiness worth?  A lot…to someone I’m sure.  But making others happy makes me happy…until they leave me behind. But then somebody else comes into my life.  They say they “need me” So of course, I help. But then they are satisfied.  So they leave with a simple “Goodbye”.

Although this happens to me I still stay positive and optimistic.  I think my next response will be titled “The Happy Girl”

Thank you, To: No One And Everyone for writing this piece and reminding me that I am not alone.

~Colorful Daydreamer

 

5 thoughts on ““Willow Tree”

  1. But that is what I was saying. Sometimes it’s hard to stick up for yourself. And sometimes sticking up for yourself starts an argument. So you just leave it as it is. I don’t know what happened to your comment. 😦 But I am glad that you liked this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

